Our Family

Our Family

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Review: Fairy Tale Romance Collection by Melanie Dickerson

"Five of bestselling author Melanie Dickerson's popular YA fairytale retelling novels now available as a bind-up. Romance, intrigue, and danger abound in this bind-up of five of Melanie Dickerson's fairy-tale retellings presented in realistic historical settings. Includes The Healer's Apprentice, The Merchant's Daughter, The Fairest Beauty, The Captive Maiden, and The Princess Spy.

 The Healer's Apprentice: Rose has been appointed as a healer's apprentice at Hagenheim Castle, and when Lord Hamlin, the future duke, is injured, Rose tends to him. As she works to heal his wound, she begins to fall in love, and wonders if he feels the same. But Lord Hamlin is betrothed to a mysterious young woman in hiding. As Rose's life spins toward confusion, she must take the first steps on a journey to discover her own destiny.

 The Merchant's Daughter: Annabel is trapped in indentured servitude to Lord Ranulf, a recluse who is rumored to be both terrifying and beastly. She soon finds he is not beastly after all, and becomes involved in a situation that could place Ranulf's future, and possibly his heart, in her hands.

 The Fairest Beauty: Sophie desperately wants to get away from her stepmother's jealousy, and receives her chance when Gabe arrives from Hagenheim Castle, claiming she is betrothed to his older brother, and that he has come to rescue her. Though romance is impossible--she is his brother's future wife, and Gabe himself is betrothed to someone else--the pair flee to the Cottage of the Seven to find help. Before long both must not only protect each other from the dangers around them, they must also protect their hearts.

 The Captive Maiden: When Gisela learns the duke's son, Valten--the boy she has daydreamed about for years--is throwing a ball in hopes of finding a wife, she vows to find a way to attend, even if it's only for a taste of a life she'll never have. To her surprise, she catches Valten's eye. Though he is rough around the edges, Gisela finds Valten has completely captured her heart. But other forces are bent on keeping the two from falling further in love, putting Gisela in more danger than she ever imagined.

 The Princess Spy: Margaretha has always been a romantic, and hopes her newest suitor, Lord Claybrook, is destined to be her one true love. But then an injured man is brought to Hagenheim Castle, claiming to be an English lord who was attacked by Claybrook and left for dead. And only Margaretha--one of the few who speaks his language--understands the wild story. It is up to her to save her father, Colin, and Hagenheim itself from Claybrook's wicked plot."

A few months ago I had an opportunity to review The Princess Spy.  I had never heard of Melanie Dickerson or this series of books before.  I loved it and was hoping to have an opportunity to read the others.  I was very glad when all of the books were released in this Fairy Tale Romance Collection.

Each of these books are a twist on a familiar story and the characters in the books are linked to the characters in the other books.  The Healer's Apprentice is a based on the story of Sleeping Beauty, The Merchants Daughter is based on the story of Beauty and the Beast, The Fairest Beauty is based on the story of Snow White, The Captive Maiden is based on the story of Cinderella and The Princess Spy is based on the story of The Frog Prince.  Each of the stories have historical details that make them appropriate to suit the time medieval time period.  These are wonderful stories showing great and noble characters in the midst of evil and turmoil.  There is a romantic element to each story as well  (of course they are fairy tales!), and happy endings.  I love the way the stories are linked to each other.  You can read each separately but I like the picture the whole series paints.  Melanie Dickerson proves that fairy tales are not just for children.  I would recommend this set for older teens and adults.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book for the purpose of writing a fair and honest review.  I received no other compensation and all opinions are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance to FTC regulations.

No comments: